Concerto for Orchestra (2016)

3(fl.3 dbl. picc.).3.3(cl.3 dbl. bcl.).3(bsn.3 dbl. cbsn.)/ perc.(3)/hp./

Duration: 22'

Commissioned by: BBC co-commission with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

World première: Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra / cond. Vasily Petrenko, BBC Proms 2016, Royal Albert Hall, London, UK, 25th August 2016. Broadcast live on BBC Radio 3.

Winner of a British Composer Award 2017 (Orchestral Category)



"one of this year’s finest new works"

The Guardian Critics' Highlights Proms 2016

"Visionary … [a] ringing confirmation of Howard's maturing gifts."

★★★★ - The Times

"Listening to [Torus], what was immediately apparent was Howard’s easy command of large-scale orchestral writing … genuinely rewarding."

★★★★ - The Guardian

"An accomplished and absorbing new work by a composer who is keen to hear the overall shape of the piece rather than become distracted by surface detail. This is a philosophy I like … Torus uses an extraordinary array of musical techniques to create startling effects and meditative passages."

★★★★ - www.bachtrack.com


2nd October 2020

Orchestral Geometries
PRiSM shares recordings of three Orchestral Geometries – Torus (2016), sphere (2017) and Antisphere (2019) along with Emily’s blog post about the creating the series.